HEB Challenge #2

 

my HEB Store (Photo credit: arellis49)

 

HEB

 

Hello Everyone,

If you are just tuning in, over the previous week I decided to try a number of HEB’s pre-made foods to let you all know what is worth buying from HEB for a quick meal and what you should avoid. Today, I decided to go with a Panini. I love a good Panini, especially from Panera Bread because they are always delicious. I purchased a turkey provolone Panini made for me, “fresh”. I also purchased this pre-made New England clam chowder. I must admit I was a bit skeptical because although clam chowder tastes great (even sometimes from the can) I usually have to add something to it. I am also a big fan of chowders, so my thoughts before buying were hoping the dish had that not too thick, not too thin consistency. Chowder is NOT a soup, so it should NOT appear as one or taste like one. I was also really craving fruit so I purchased a “fresh and ready to eat” mango berry mix. It had strawberries, black berries, blue berries, and mangos.  I think the cost of the meal was pretty reasonable being about 16 dollars. The Panini was a pretty good size and so was the soup. I wish the fruit was a bit more, especially since it cost about $5.50. I suppose fresh fruit costs a bit more.

I must say, the overall meal was pretty good. I warmed the chowder in the microwave for about 1minute 30 seconds, transferring the chowder into another bowl and not the plastic bowl it was purchased in. I did this because the plastic will melt if you don’t and you will have a huge mess to clean up in your microwave. I also warmed my Panini in the microwave for about 15 seconds, just so my cheese would melt a little more. The mixed fruit I purchased was already perfect, so I just transferred it to my plate and dived in. The chowder didn’t need anything added to it. It was creamy and warm and tasted like chowder is supposed to taste. The Panini was also good. The bread had that little crunch that you expect, but wasn’t so hard that you couldn’t bite into it. The Panini was warm and crunchy and you could taste that somewhat smoky flavor. The fruit was very fresh. This was almost unexpected, then again, HEB usually has some fresh fruit. I think I will purchase another Panini tomorrow since the one I purchased today was so good.

So, if you are looking for a good chowder, a great Panini, and some fresh fruit, then HEB is the place to go. These three items will not be a waste of money or time in any way. If you’re a mom that needs something fast, a boyfriend that can’t cook, or a grandma that just doesn’t feel up to it then stop by your local HEB, eat up and enjoy!

 

~Suhpos

Leave a Reply

