Beads, Beads, and more BEADS!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hello Everyone,

Over the past couple of weeks I have been looking for inspiration to create new things and stumbled into beaded jewelry. While at work I noticed a woman with a beaded bracelet and thought that it was so cool. I asked her where she purchased it from and she told me that she made it. She introduced herself as “Boots” (obviously her last name) and began to tell me how she took a jewelry making class at Hobby Lobby to learn how to make her beaded bracelet. As we continued to talk she told me that she wouldn’t mind teaching me how to make it myself. So, of course, I went to Michael’s Arts & crafts and purchased TOHO beads size 11, size 10 beading needles,  a small pair of scissors and small storage container for all the supplies. I also needed thread heaven, “One G” thread, not purchased from Michaels but from Bead-A-Holic. Boots provided me with notes and copied instructions of how to make a bracelet. I met with her one day after work and she showed me how it was done. I only used a square stitch to make this particular bracelet.  For the closure of the bracelet I just sort of made it up. I’m not sure if it was supposed to look like that, but the outcome looked pretty cool so I’m happy. I am in the process of learning other stitches such as the herringbone stitch, ladder stitch, and peyote stitch. All of the different types of stitches will give your beaded art a different look. The picture in the slideshow is the first bracelet that I created. I have made 2 more since then. It takes time, but it is very worth it; I found something that I really love to do. Now, I am in the process of creating my own patters for bracelets. I also made some snowflake earrings since Christmas is right around the corner. You see those in the slideshow as well, but I have yet to add the earring hook onto them. If you are interested in learning how to create your own beaded jewelry I have added links at the bottom or you could go to your local Michaels Arts & Crafts store or Hobby Lobby to see if they offer jewelry making classes. Doing it yourself costs a lot less, just an FYI. Hope you have enjoyed reading and learning with me so far. If you liked this post, check out my post on DIY chain bracelets.

Have a Blessed day!

~Suhpos

 

http://beadwork.about.com/od/beadedearrings/tp/Beaded-Snowflake-Earrings-Pattern.htm

http://jewelry-crafts.wonderhowto.com/how-to/make-bracelet-using-square-stitch-223143/

–Also, Michaels Arts & Crafts offers books that teach you how to do different stitches and designs with bead jewerly. I am sure Hobby Lobby offers them as well.

Leave a Reply

