DUCK tape you say…

By: suhpos

Sep 17 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Fashion

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.64
Focal Length:3.79mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/16 sec
Camera:SGH-T959V

For this Duck Tape D.I.Y I decided to use leopard and blue jeans colored duck tape. The duck tape was bought at Michaels arts and crafts store. They have a huge supply of duct tape (the brand name is DUCK TAPE), with a variety of colors and designs. They will cost about 5 dollars each so make sure you have a coupon or get them when they are on sale. The clutch created in this D.I.Y only used two duck tapes. I saw that I had some left so I decided to use the left overs to make a duck tape flower to go on the clutch. I also added beads to give it a more up to date look and make it not look cheap.

I measured about 16 ½ inches to 17 inches for the length of the duck tape for the purse. I wanted a big clutch, not a small one. Overlapping the tape I used about 11 pieces for the body and overlapped the leopard side with the blue jeans colored duck tape. Using a 13 to 14 inch  long piece of cardboard, I cut about an inch to a half an inch wide to use for the inside of the clutch. This worked to give the clutch a little body and to offer a little more room inside, so now it is a clutch/handbag. You don’t want to cut the board too thick, then you will have to use too much tape in order to cover the board but it’s up to you (depends on the look your going for).  I looked up a d.i.y on how to do both the duck tape clutch purse and the duck tape flower. I just gave it my own little twist. I added 8 inch pockets inside of the clutch as well. Again, the length and height of each part depends on the look you are going for. Below you will find the links. Enjoy!

–          Suhpos

Here are the links for the “how to” for the clutch and the flower. Hope they are as useful to you as they were to me. I used them for a base then just came up with some ideas of my own. If you would like me to insert step-by-step directions on what I did in regards to my design then please let me know by leaving a comment. Thanks and have fun!!!

http://www.howjoyful.com/2010/08/duct-tape-joyful-flower-tutorial/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_z605_CxFs

http://www.monkeysee.com/play/14638-how-to-make-a-duct-tape-rose

One comment on “DUCK tape you say…”

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around
    your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!


Leave a Reply

